Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Committee for the Defence of Teesta Setalvad and Justice in Gujarat. (Press Release)


Committee for the Defence of Teesta Setalvad and Justice in Gujarat


Nawab Building, 2nd Floor, 327, Dr. D.N. Road, Mumbai - 400 001



Dt. 23/05/2011





Subversion of Justice is not a new phenomenon in the process of its administration. The recent turns of events in cases following the communal carnage of 2002 have borne its maximum brunt. Therefore, citizens concerned for justice to the victims of Gujarat Carnage have formed a "Committee for the Defence of Teesta Setalvad and Justice in Gujarat". The Committee would undertake appropriate actions and activities to see that neither Teesta Setalvad nor anybody else is victimized for working for the cause of justice. The committee would also defend the human rights of vulnerable sections, and would include, but not be limited to, monitoring cases slapped on Teesta Setalvad, to stand in solidarity with her, to bring out detailed facts before the people pertaining to this selective victimization of Teesta Setalvad and those fighting for the cause of justice in Gujarat.


The ultimate objective is to allow the law and the process of justice to take its own course without being subverted or influenced by vested interests. The committee thus in the process will gradually bring out the truth before the people of this country though statements, meetings, engagement with the media and all available other platforms. Thus the committee seeks to address issues not only from the legal angle but also look at human rights abuses in the wider ambit of achieving equitable social justice for all.


The Committee is headed by Shri P.B. Sawant (Retd. Justice,  Supreme Court) as the Chairperson. Shri. Suresh Mehta (Fmr. Chief Minister, Gujarat) and Dr. Asghar Ali Engineer are Vice Chairpersons. Smt. Romila Thapar,  Shri. Irfan Habib, Dr. Ram Puniyani, Shri. Juzer Bandukwala, Shri. Irfan Engineer, Shri Sukla Sen and many others are members of the Committee. Advocate Shri B. A. Desai is the Convenor.

The extended meeting of the Committee, including other additional members is convened on 25th May 2011 at 5 p.m. at Bombay Union of Journalists Hall, Second Floor, Prospect Chambers Annexe, D.N. Road, Fort, Mumbai.

A well attended press conference addressed by Shri B. A. Desai, Shri. Suresh Mehta and Shri P.B. Sawant has already been held today,  from 3-5 p.m., at the Press Club.


Post a Comment